Home » Journal » Root Chakra – Everything You Need to Know

Root Chakra – Everything You Need to Know

What are Chakras?

Chakra literally means “spinning wheel.” Chakras are the energy centers of the body. We have major and minor chakras in our energetic body systems. When a chakra is not functioning properly or if it is blocked, illness is more prone to occur. Our wellbeing on all levels can affect and is affected by the chakras.

There are 7 main chakras located in the astral body along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and running upwards to the crown of the head. 

  • The First Chakra – Root Chakra
  • The Second Chakra – Sacral Chakra
  • The Third Chakra – Solar Plexus Chakra
  • The Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra
  • The Fifth Chakra – Throat Chakra
  • The Sixth Chakra – Third Eye Chakra 
  • The Seventh Chakra – Crown Chakra

Learn about the 7 main Chakras

In this article, I’m going to share with you some characteristics of the Root Chakras and how to heal the chakra if it is off balance.

Introduction to the Root Chakra

Sanskrit name: Muladhara – root support
Location: At the perineum, between the genitals and the anus, base of spine
Color: Red
Mantra: Lam
Element: Earth

The root chakra is responsible for your sense of safety and security on this earthly journey. It relates to the element earth, and all solid, earthly things, such as our bodies, our health, our survival, our material and monetary existence, and our ability to focus and manifest our needs. It is visualized as a deep, vibrant red, the color of beginning, and the color with the longest wavelength and lowest vibration in the visible spectrum.

This is the first of the chakras of matter. Balancing the root chakra creates the solid foundation for opening the chakras above.

To ignore this chakra is to threaten our very survival, both personally and collectively. If we do not balance this chakra before we progress to others, our growth will be without roots, ungrounded, and will lack the stability necessary for true growth.

When the Root Chakra is balanced

Here are some signs of an open, balanced Root Chakra:

  • Feeling grounded, secure and safe
  • Feeling connected to our tribal consciousness and family
  • Healthy eating
  • Optimal weight

When the Root Chakra is imbalanced

When your Root Chakra is off-balance, it can become overactive or underactive.

Underactive Root Chakra

When a chakra is underactive, it means that the chakra is experiencing a blockage or is not distributing the flow of energy.

Signs of an underactive root chakra:

  • Feel Disconnected
  • Disorganized
  • Lack of Focus
  • Feelings of Fear Anxiousness, or Restlessness
  • Lack of Stamina
  • Trouble Obtaining Financial Security

Overactive Root Chakra

When a chakra is overactive, it means that the chakra is distributing too much energy.

Signs of an overactive root chakra:

  • Anger and Annoyance Towards People and Events in Your Life.
  • Greediness
  • Dependent on Others’ Security
  • Rigid Boundaries
  • Difficulty Accepting Change
  • Materialistic
  • Impulsiveness

Click here to test your Chakra

How to heal your Root Chakra

Grounding Meditation

Practicing Yoga

One of the ways in which we can bring balance to the energy in our root chakra is to practice yoga.

Here are some poses that can either stimulate the chakra to increase energy or release excess energy:

  • Knee to chest (Apanasana)
  • Bridge pose (Setu Bandhasana)
  • Half Locust and Full Locust
  • Head to Knee (Janu Sirsasana)
  • Deep relaxation (Hatha Yoga)
  • Standing Forward Fold (Uttanasana)
  • Easy Pose (Sukhasana)
  • Mountain Pose (Tadasana)
  • Yogi Squat (Malasana)

If you’re a fan of Yoga with Adriene, you don’t want to miss this one: Grounding Into Gratitude – Root Chakra Yoga. This yoga practice guides you through a series of poses to balance the root chakra and cultivate grounding with gratitude.

Healing your Root Chakra with crystals and essential oils

Crystal Healing

Healing crystals are becoming increasingly popular, with people using gemstones to balance energies and become more attuned to their body and mind. They

Healing crystals are becoming increasingly popular, with people using gemstones to balance energies and become more attuned to their body and mind.

Healing crystals are becoming increasingly popular, with people using gemstones to balance energies and become more attuned to their body and mind. They’re believed to hold vibrational energy and believed to transmit this energy to you and balance your emotional, physical and spiritual energies.

There are many Crystals that support the root chakra, some of the best known include Ruby, Garnet, Black Tourmaline, Bloodstone, Hematite, Obsidian, Onyx, Red Jasper, Lodestone, Smoky quartz, Fire Agate,…

Learn about Crystal Healing here

Essential Oils – Aromatherapy

We can also use essential oils to help balance the chakras by treating any of the issues of the physical body, emotions, mood and spiritual connection that throw us out of balance.

Some essential oils that support the root chakra are: cedarwood, cypress, Idaho grand fir, vetiver, Abundance, Grounding, Valor.

Here are some ways to use aromatherapy in healing the root chakra:

  • Take deep breaths of the aroma after opening the bottle.
  • Dilute essential oils with a carrier oil and apply it directly your skin
  •  Put them in your bath
  • Massage your body (especially your feet and legs) with sesame oil and essential oils
  • Use essential oil diffusers

Healing your Root Chakra with foods

Foods that help to balance the Root Chakra are:

  • Red foods or foods with a strong red pigment
  • Root vegetables
  • Food rich in protein
  • Spices such as chives, paprika and pepper

Other healing practices to balance your Root Chakra

Here are some other practices to balance the Root Chakra:

  • Exercise, dance and movement
  • Walk barefoot on the Earth
  • Get out in nature
  • Practice gratitude
  • Practice letting go
  • Create safety in your environment
  • Use the color Red:
  • Wear it, eat red foods such as cherries, beets and apples
  • Chant ‘Om Lam’
  • Take time to draw and contemplate the root chakra yantra
  • Massage your feet with cold-pressed sesame oil
  • Practice using affirmations
  • Try Reiki Healing

So we’ve just looked at the Root Chakra. Stay tuned for the new post about the Sacral Chakra!

Love and light,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.